Home > Uncategorized > Birthdays, Jaws and Leviathans

Birthdays, Jaws and Leviathans

My daughter, Leia, turns one today. It’s kind of a big deal. My wife and I are more excited about her birthday than we were about ours, which is odd because I doubt that Leia really noticed any difference. We were buzzing off the excitement of it all day.  We already gave her all of her presents and had a couple of parties with the grandparents. The parties were a lot of fun, even if things could have gone a bit better…

It is her party, after all

Despite being only one, she’s already an accomplished artist. We get pieces of art from her every once and a while from day care. This piece given specifically to me so my wife can’t steal it and hang it in her office. It was my father’s day present.

Notice those grey shadowy portions? The paper is kind of wrinkly, sorry about that. I can only assume that those come from the moments where Leia forgot that she was supposed to be drawing and grabbed the paper with her vice-like grip. That’s actually one of my favorite parts of the work. It’s like a signature of hers, considering how many magazines we’ve had to wrestle from her. One of the pieces my wife has even has a corner missing.

After looking at the piece a bit closer, I saw something peculiar.

Doesn’t look like much, does it? Maybe not by itself, but there’s something else.

It's a carcaradon carcharias. It's a Great White

That’s a shark! And I know what a shark looks like, because I’ve seen one up close.  That previous picture was obviously one of the fins. Leia knows I like them, so she’s drawing pictures of them. Either because she wants to be like me, or because she likes them too.  Instead of being some random children’s drawing, this is a dramatic recreation of a feeding frenzy. Obviously my daughter is some sort of marine biologenius.

So, in other shark-related news, Jaws is celebrating it’s 35th anniversary. I’m planning on celebrating this weekend by watching it. I think it’s only fitting seeing as how the film does take place over the 4th of July. It was a staple of my childhood. My mom and I watched it probably once a month. Now I can’t remember the last time I saw it. That’s a damn shame considering it’s the third greatest movie ever made. I’m super excited about that.

In other non-shark, but still super-cool animal related news, they found the fossil of a new kind of whale. A fifty foot long whale that ate other whales. The named it Leviathan Melvillei. Melvillei after the author of Moby Dick, Herman Melville and Leviathan after the Hebrew word for whale.

Leviathan is also the name for one of the seven princes of Hell and the gatekeeper of the Hellmouth (not Sunnydale).  A fairly fitting name for something whose teeth are 14 inches long. That’s bigger than my…well, needless to say it’s an impressive size for a tooth. So go read up on them, and then impress your mates with your knowledge of long extinct marine mammals.

http://af.reuters.com/article/worldNews/idAFTRE6603EE20100701

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science_and_environment/10469829.stm

Anyway, you should wish Leia a happy birthday. I know she would appreciate it.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 1, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Wow, happy birthday Leia! Time really flies – it just seems like she was born yesterday! Did you get any of the standard “cake on face and head” photos?

    I’m pretty sure I saw Jaws only once: when I was about 12 or 13. I liked it a lot, but I haven’t seen it since. I was a lot braver back then, so I’d probably be really freaked out if I were to watch it again.

    • DJ
      July 5, 2010 at 6:55 am

      Jaws is well worth a rewatch if you can handle it. The thing I’ve come to appreciate most about it is the structure. The first half is like a horror movie while the second half is an adventure movie. Each half has its own beginning middle and end. It’s a really bizarre structure for a movie to have, but it works amazingly well.

  2. Tracy
    July 3, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    That shark did have a feeding frenzy. I notice the two drops of blood dripping from its mouth. Sorry we missed the party. We were up north. Lydia got her first black eye when she rolled off the bed and landed on her face.

    Happy Birthday Leia!

    • DJ
      July 5, 2010 at 7:04 am

      Sorry we missed Lydia’s party. Leia keeps getting little bruises on her face from bonking stuff at day care. We’re planning on getting studio photos taken of her one year pics and we’re afraid that she’ll get a major bonk the day before. She also got bit again. I told her next time that she should tell the biter, “When you bite me, it shows that you don’t respect me or my feelings. Please stop.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

