Home > Uncategorized > When I was a kid I had a rat, sometimes if I was lucky I got the string.

When I was a kid I had a rat, sometimes if I was lucky I got the string.

January 28, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

These kids toys are off the chain.

Allow, if you will, a moment to brag about my daughter. Here she is.

Cute, no?

I said, isn’t she cute?

ANSWER ME!

Anyway, over Christmas she got a number of toys. We’ve been giving them to her one at a time so that she can fully appreciate each one. Right now that logic doesn’t really make much sense to me, but I assure you, at the time I thought it up it was a sound choice. Moving on, her latest toy was a Leap Frog Learn & Grow Musical Table.

That’s a tableau of ADHD fuel right there. She’s got a trombone, some shapes, a banjo, a keyboard, a guitar, a bowling pin/maraca and some bizarre green thing. Each button or slide or rolling thing or green thing plays music when activated. To top it all off, you flip the “page” on the “book” in the center and the music changes to singing. When she’s older it’ll teach her the alphabet and numbers and a number of different words, and it does this in English or Spanish. That’s a whole lot of teaching that I don’t have to do, As a parent, I appreciate that.

Yesterday we whipped out the music table, batteried it up and set her in front of it. I pressed one of the shape buttons to get things rolling and let her at it. I was utterly amazed at how fast she caught on to things. She mastered the shapes pretty quickly, so I rotated the keyboard in front of her. To my surprise she grabbed at the banjo first and managed to flick the neck to make music. Then she moved on to the keyboard and banged her hands on that for quite a while. At one point she was so taken with herself that she raised both arms in the universal “touchdown” signal and squealed with glee. I rotated the table again and she instantly grabbed for the bridge of the guitar and started pushing it forward, again making music. That got boring pretty fast so I rotated it to the green thing and the trombone.

It took her a while to get the hang of the green thing. Really all it is is a little storage container. When you open and close the lid, it makes music. Since she hadn’t figure out how to open it, I eventually did it for her. As soon as it was open, she’d reach for the lid and shut it. Open, shut, open, shut, open, shut. Then I grabbed the trombone and slid the device over, she grabbed for it and slid it back. She was actually playing with me, which tickled me all shades of pink.

Her last toy was a really cool zoo playset with a number of buttons which would result in music, lights, and singing. We were stoked when she figured out how to push the red buttons to get the toy to go on its own, but this is a whole new level of interactivity and learning. For me and for her it was a really, really exciting day.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. January 28, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Oh, she’s so cute! Kids grow up so fast, it seems like yesterday she was just a wee newborn. They learn so fast as well…

  2. Grampa B
    January 29, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Are the buttons shiny, red buttons?

  3. Grampa B
    January 29, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I mean are they shiny, red, candy-like buttons?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

